Posted by: Leah | February 3, 2012

I Just Wanted to Ask

I received my monthly issue of the Toastmaster magazine in the mail two weeks ago. I LOVE this magazine. This time I read an article called You Are a Brilliant Woman by Tara Sophia Mohr.

This article gives advice and ideas on how women can improve their language to become more effective communicators. The first advice said: Drop the ‘just”.

Mind ya, I am all about equal rights and opportunities. This is STUPID, fumed I. It does not matter if you are a man or a woman, we either can or cannot communicate. Then I started to  think and pay attention how many times a day I used the word just in verbal and written communication.

“I was just wondering”.

“I just wanted to ask”.

“It is just that”

“Just a question”

Holy! This Tara Sophia is RIGHT. Using the word just makes your sentences and ultimately you sound like somebody not so important.

Delete just.

This week my challenge at work was to remove just from my setnences.

“I just wanted to ask” = I would like to know

I was just wondering = I was wondering

It is just that. =The thing is

Just a question.= I would like to ask you.

Surprisingly, I was getting replies to my requests faster and communicated my message across more effectively.

My challenge to you is:

if you are a female – do we really abuse the word “just“? Think about it.

If you are a male – do you do it as well? Think about it.

In Toastmaster’s Friendship.

Leah.


Responses

  1. Oh my gosh you’re right. I’m going to see if I can stop saying it too, it’s actually ridiculous now that I think of it. Makes you sound timid and unimportant when we should be assertive! Thanks for this!

    • No problem! When I realized HOW MANY times a day I used this word, it scared me for real. I was diminishing myself by doing that!

  2. I am so guilty of this! Will start paying closer attention from now on. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Progress report: removing the word ‘just’ seems to be doing wonders for my frame of mind and the way I relate myself to others. I’ve been working on being less referential and this was just what I needed :D


And You Say...

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

