Posted by: Leah | July 30, 2011

My Happy Place

Over four years ago, when I was attending a support group and therapy sessions to get myself together after my divorce, one of my issues was that I was fixating too much on the past happiness and looking for the same in the present. It turned out things do not work that way.

So, I was advised to go and find something that would always bring me back to happiness whenever I feel unbalanced. Easier said than done.

I tried working out on my own. Good for me, but booooring.

Language classes. They made me only frustrated not happy. As a former English as a Second Langauge Teacher I could see whenever our teacher was unprepared, unmotivated or just could not care less.

Crafts. I have no patience for crafts.

Running. It turned out I hate running.

Cooking. I like eating, not cooking.

And then I thought – dance. That was a very courageous thought, because I was the most uncoordinated person in the world at that time. My first dance classes were really painful to watch. Yet, somehow, I decided to stick with dancing (perhaps my inner masochist had her word in that decision).

Now, four years later I have found my happy place. My therapist was absolutely right. It is very easy – whenever I feel sad, unbalanced or down – I just go and take a dance class! An easy fix. And oh does it make me happy! When I am happy, I dance too. πŸ™‚

I think it is important to realize that you can’t bring back past happy emotions, but you can always build present.

My coordination improved too. I have no troubles whatsoever learning new moves and routines. It came to me with practice.

and..doctors say dancing reduces the chance of getting Alzheimer’s later in life, because dancing you keep your brain on toes. See you on the dance floor or taking a class with me!

Do you have a happy place you can easily go to?

Responses

  1. “I think it is important to realize that you can’t bring back past happy emotions, but you can always build present.” What an important nugget of wisdom. I’m definitely going to keep it in my mind.

    I think my happy place is writing, reading, or having a great time with my family, especially my younger siblings (who are 11 and 16, respectively). I can let go with them and be silly and just relax πŸ™‚

    • πŸ™‚ yeah I find that the older I become, the more difficult it is to let go πŸ™‚ I am always appropriate and professional. Yikes! But there are fixes to that – as you said spending time with younger peeps does help! πŸ™‚ Or dancing. Ha!


And You Say...

Categories

