Posted by: Leah | August 6, 2011

Musings of a Picky Eater

Small child with head down on highchair.

Image via Wikipedia

People often have misconceptions about picky eaters mistaking them either non eaters or moody people who don’t know what they want!

We, picky eaters, are neither! And we are born this way! Many of my friends don’t realize the scope of my pickiness up until they invite me over and ask if I have any food limitations. Betcha, I do! I am a picky eater on top of keeping kosher. In many cases, people do not realize how picky I am because I tend to meet friends in restaurants and check menu in advance and see what I can eat there.

Just to give a very abridged list of things I don’t really eat unless I absolutely have to! Meat, poultry, very smelly fish, buckwheat, milk, cabbage, cabbage rolls, beets, celery, leek, beans, bananas, apples, peaches, grapefruits, grapes, not a huge fan of potatoes and cucumbers. There is more to my list 🙂 This is just to give you an idea. I also don’t eat traditional Ashkenazi foods like gefilte fish, matza balls and such.

But I am not a non-eater. I have a relatively healthy appetite. I just don’t eat certain things because I don’t feel well after eating them. Often people think that this is just being moody – like as though I on purpose get on somebody’s nerves. Nothing to do with it. I have always been this way, and I should tell you – this is not fun! First of all, it is tough to eat a balanced diet. Secondly, if I come to somebody’s house – this is a whole challenge not to offend a host who spent so many hours cooking. This requires special skills and ain’t easy. Thirdly, I would like to retrain my body to eat the foods I don’t eat – but no matter how much I tried I have only become unwell after trying to expose myself to them.

So if you are a picky eater out there. Say hello! If not, emphasize, our life is not as easy as it seems.

Responses

  1. If the issue is that you don’t feel well after eating a food, a better term would be “food sensitivity” than picky eater – “picky eater” usually means you don’t eat a variety of foods because you just don’t like (or refuse to try) different foods. I have many food sensitivities – unfortunately for the most part, I ignore them (as my father always said, “I have big eyes!”) and suffer the consequences….kudos to you for sticking to your guns on this!

    • thanks for your comment – I am not quite sure if they are all food sensitivities – in some cases they are – e.g. bananas, but then again in some cases I have no idea why I like all things mango, but dislike all things apples 🙂


And You Say...

Categories

