Posted by: Leah | August 17, 2011

Respecting Your Limitations

A great thing about doing yoga is that you learn to work with your body: one day balance is there, some other probably not. You learn to work with what you have as opposed to what you would like to have.

I think it is important not to get too ambitious in workout plans. What do I mean?

1. How many times I would plan my workout to be early in the morning and then cancel it or do it and then get a massive headache after. Well, I am not a morning person. At all. For me to go for a yoga class at 6:45 am is almost suicidal. My body does not like that and gives me a headache  every time I do that. But I am pretty happy when working out in the evening or even late at night.

Now I schedule workouts for either afternoons or evenings. No ambitious early mornings anymore.

2. Boring repetitive routines do not work for me. I have a short attention span. If a physical activity is too repetitive, I lose interest after 5 minutes. Yawn.

Now, I go to classes with fun instructors and when working out on my own change  routines a lot.

3. Certain types of physical activity don’t work for my body. Take lounges. I get knee pain all the time. Or running. Yes, I know they are good for you, but I’d rather do something gentle that works for my body, not for a body of an average person.

Working out is extremely important. But more important is to do it so you keep it up, and your body benefits from it. Learning how far you can go is a big part of it.

And You Say...

Categories

