Posted by: Leah | September 11, 2011

9/11

On September 11, 2001 I was at Moscow State University. It was just after 5 pm, Moscow time, and we heard noise and people crying, and everyone – students and professors decided to go and see what was going on.

A TV was on in the dean’s office, and it was showing planes crashing into twin buildings, and people up high with no hope, and all our American professors were crying. I clearly remember that at that time I was shocked and asked myself what if that had happened in Russia, would I be crying at all. Patriotism and attachment to the country mean different things for North Americans and Russians. Now, being a proudly Canadian I hope this horror will never be repeated, but I know the answer I would be crying, and weeping and grieving.

Later, when what happened finally daunted on me I could only think about stories of people who died there, their families, firefighters, EMS workers, police officers. I was thinking about posttramautic syndrome and simply how life would be different.

I was right. Life post 9/11 is very different. We have more fear and less trust. But most importanly, we became more fragmentated, separated; we are looking for enemies instaed of allies and friends; we blame Islam instead of blaming fanatics. We definitely hate more and love less. However, all these months and years after 9/11 we also saw some hope – people showing love, care, helping people stuck in Canada when there were no flights post 9/11. In general, when any tragedy strikes, you always see the best of humanity and the worst humanity. I hope that the best will finally win over.

And You Say...

Categories

