Posted by: Leah | September 22, 2011

Cooking Challenge: 100 Dishes Before December 31, 2011

I don’t like cooking, but I like to know what I eat, add to that keeping kosher, and yes sometimes this is a big problem. I also don’t eat meat and don’t like to eat food cooked by unhappy people.  No, seriously, I think there is nothing worse in the world than the food cooked by unhappy people. It carries their mood and tastes despair.

During this month of Elul instead of reflecting on my spiritual year and setting up goals, I have been caught in the midst of emotions: anxiety, hope, anger, love. I also found out that good ol’ spicy food balances me out. So I decided – why not?

I am aiming to cook 100 different vegetarian dishes to the end of this secular year and share them with you. Today I will show two very versatile recipes that are good with anything you put in. Before I start – just to warn you – I am a kind’a cook who puts chilli powder everywhere. You don’t have to.

Number 1. Vegetable Kind’a Stir-Fry

1 chinese eggplant, two potatoes – peeled, one red sweet pepper, baby carrots – sliced in a food processor.

Heat a pan, add a tablespoon of olive oil and yes, stir-fry until eggplant and potatoes are done – approximately for ten minutes, add chilli pepper and salt. The veggies in this recipe can be really substituted with whatever you have in the fridge. The result is still the same 🙂

 

Number 2. Strawberry pancakes.

Don’t worry no chilli pepper in them! I actually first made apple pancakes, and then realized that I can put any fruit or veggie in them. As Rosh- Hashana apparoaches, I always dread a traditional meal with apple and honey. I eat neither. I can eat apple sauce, and now I know I can do apple pancakes, which is a good start.

But here come strawberry pancakes – 10 strawberries, washed, put in the food processor, puree, add 1/2 table spoon of sugar, a bit cinnamon, vanilla, then add one egg, one table spoon of Greek or any type of natural yoghurt, two tablespoons of flour to the strawberry mix and mix it in in the food processor until you get a nice batter.

Heat a frying pan, add a bit of canola or sunflower oil and pour or spoon batter on it, brown on both sides, serve hot.

Responses

  1. I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

    • thank you!


And You Say...

Categories

