Posted by: Leah | October 23, 2011

Perceptions of Happiness

Last Monday I did the speech on the happiness project at my toastmasters club, and I also have been trying the book’s ideas on my friends and people I know. Sometimes I find people are very skeptical about this whole idea – they are like u-huh yeah, happiness you say, easy you say? 🙂

Partially I think this is because as we become older we become more cynical and less likely to believe things. Besides, happiness is always advertized as a blissful feeling that descends on you, and as a feeling that does not happen every day – there should be something big happening – like wedding, the birth of a child, graduation.

I think that is not quite right. Even though big events trigger bigger emotions, it does not mean that every day life cannot trigger happiness. As Gretchen Rubin in The Happiness Project says – if you feel happy, you are happy; you don’t need to doubt your feelings.

I truly believe that it is very possible to be happy or happier in your every day life – and you don’t need to win $1 million dollars for that or become a CEO of Microsoft, you just need to be true to yourself and balanced in your life, and of course do things as opposed to dream about things.

P.S. I will be starting my happiness project November 1. I am just finishing planning and analyzing my life. 🙂 I will blog more about it at the end of the month.

And You Say...

Categories

