Posted by: Leah | November 19, 2011

The Happiness Update: Midmonth Thoughts and Weekend

I am half way through the first month of my happiness project, and I would to reflect a little bit on what I have implemented:

1. I try to get chores done when they arise – which means I do dishes right away, I try to unpack my backpack, prepare some stuff the night before – this actually DOES make me so much happier. When I come home, I don’t have to do dishes, and I don;t have to overstress in the morning because I need to prepare lost of things as a result I am now almost always on time.

2. I stopped doing things that took too much commute – such as one trip to the gym to the east of Toronto during the week and hospice volunteering. I did feel guilty about the latter, but it was crazy – three hours in commute and four hours there, almost all weekend day was gone. As much as I loved what I did, the commute made me really stressed. And stress can be taxing.

3.  I try to have two nights a week where I get square (gasp) eight hours of sleep – one over the weekend and one during the week, and this makes me blissfully happy. I LOVE sleeping. There are two different people – Leah who slept her regular 5.5-6 hours and Leah who slept 8 hours and you would not believe the difference! 🙂

Yesterday I was talking to one of my friends, and she told me a story of how she wanted to buy a jacket that she kept thinking about! That reminded me. There was this mug I saw at Starbucks a couple of months ago, and I kept thinking about it. Today I gave in and said you know what – after all I have the money on my starbucks card, let me just have fewer drinks but get my mug! I am SOOOOOO happy now 🙂

Here it is:

My Starbucks Mug

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

My Starbucks Mug

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Well, speaking about Starbucks, one of my fave winter drinks there is caramel apple spice, which is pretty much apple cider. It is SO good. I normally get it half-sweet and with no whipped cream, and I like the taste and the warmth this drink brings.
 
I generally tend to be loyal to brands, and one more I would like to mention today – Lululemon. It by the way helps me to accomplish one of the goals I have this month – bring more colour into my life. I work out four-five times a week. I am very visual and I need to wear something comfortabble and pretty to be motivated to work out. That is why at some point of time I made sure my workout clothes and gear is high quality and bright colours. 
Lululemon IS pricey. I normally buy it over Xmas sales, and as it is very high quality I have developed a nice collection over three-four years. These outfits DO last!  I do tend to wear gray or black pants, skorts or shorts but my tops and water bottle are colourful.
I think wearing something colourful, and that make you feel and look pretty makes a huge difference in results and motivation as well.
 
Well, this is my weekend so far and no I was not paid by any of my fave brands to blog this. Rather unfortunate, I would say! 🙂
Responses

  1. I’m so going to get caramel apple spice next time I’m at Starbucks! So nice to get this update, glad it’s going well 😀

    • 🙂 yeah hope you will like it! I am not so big on many of their coffee drinks – depending on a barrista of course but they are often a way too creamy for me, but caramel apple spice totally rocked my world!


And You Say...

Categories

