Posted by: Leah | December 17, 2011

Why I Don’t Give a Share About Matisyahu’s Beard or Hannukah Sameach

This week Jewish Hassidic and Orthodox world has been appalled by a hassidic reggae star’s decision to shave his beard. I have seen articles that said “Why Hassids don’t Shave their Beards” and other exciting opinions.

I personally have no idea how all Jews should live their lives, who they should date, what they should eat, and what they should think. What I know is that any faith is a road. You never stay the same when you go along that road. I have seen people who are suspiciously consistent, and this is a warning sign.

I loved the note that Matisyahu posted on his website:

“Sorry folks, all you get is me…no alias.  When I started becoming religious 10 years ago it was a very natural and organic process.  It was my choice.  My journey to discover my roots and explore Jewish spirituality—not through books but through real life.  At a certain point I felt the need to submit to a higher level of religiosity…to move away from my intuition and to accept an ultimate truth.  I felt that in order to become a good person I needed rules—lots of them—or else I would somehow fall apart.  I am reclaiming myself.  Trusting my goodness and my divine mission.”

After all, when everything else fails, it is about who you really are and your relationship with G-d, not about what length of your skirt is or whether you have a beard or not.

I went through a similar process about four years ago, when I came across a bunch of very unhappy Jews, who very highly observant but somehow suffered from within with how they lived their lives. At the same time, I was considering becoming a part of Orthodox community, and as funny as it sounds the deal breaker was dancing. If you know me, you know I love to dance. Dance is a BIG part of my life, and I could not imagine it without dancing. So I went along my personal road without joing Orthodox community. I understand I surely missed out on many beautiful things I might never experience in my life, but I felt very wrong to pretend or lead a double life.

After all, this is me, no fake proper persons, and if it means a dancing Jewish girl, I would say bring it on!

As we are about to enter one of the most beautiful Jewish festivals – Hannukah, I would like to wish you your personal, not somebody’s else’s but your

Dance Floor

Image by enric archivell via Flickr

road with many miracles on your way. I realize Hannukah is a minor festival, but if it brings more meaning into our lives, it does not matter.

Shavua Tov, Hag Sameach and all good things to you from Leah.

And You Say...

Categories

