Posted by: Leah | December 26, 2011

Bazella Recipe

I LOVE Lebanese cuisine, and one of my fave foods there is bazella – veggies in tomato sauce. I decided to try and make it at home.

Normally it is cooked with meat, but I made a vegetarian version. The recipe is from this website:

http://lebanesebyheart.com/bazella-green-peas/2008/12/17/

I made some changes to it.

So, baby carrots (if you don’t have baby – regular will do)- about 15 of  baby carrots, mini-yellow potatoes – if you don’t have mini – regular will do – about 10 mini potatoes, frozen peas – about a cup of them, tomato sauce – I took low sodium Ragu sauce – tomato and basil.

Halve carrots, quarter potatoes, add water in a pan, put carrots and potatoes, simmer until tender and water evaporated, add a table spoon of olive oil, frozen peas, summer couple more minutes, add 3/4 cup of tomato sauce and a tea spoon of cumin seeds, simmer for about 5 minutes. Done! So yum and perfect. The recipe called for onions, but I honestly forgot about them, I will try with onions next time.

And You Say...

Categories

