Posted by: Leah | December 30, 2011

Yet One More Escape-Themed Book

I have started reading the book The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari, and I have very mixed feeling about it. This book does have great ideas, but it seems to follow the pattern started by Eat, Pray, Love – escape your regular life and find yourself and the meaning of life.

Escaping and changing the environment is extremely effective, but often not possible. Besides, the message in these books is – either you change your life completely and become a Buddhist Monk or you die of a heart attack at the age of 40. I don’t like this. There are a lot of things in between. How about people who like what they do, for example? How about people who have to do what they do? Besides, you don’t have to move to India to find yourself.

However, I read a very good idea in this book yesterday. The author talks how often when meeting somebody new we introduce ourselves and give them information that says nothing about us. For example, if I say I am an accountant and have a cat, what is it going to tell you about me? That I love numbers and cats? Not necessarily. But if I tell you that I am really passionate about dancing, and music moves me, that I love scents and spices and the warmth of Indian food, that I am really interested in public speaking and think that it can change lives, then we are onto something.

It is very interesting to discover something unique instead of following stereotypes of making assumptions and being afraid to ask more questions.

Happy Friday, Shabbat Shalom and Happy December 30th – almost resolutions time!

And You Say...

Categories

