Posted by: Leah | August 8, 2012

On Meditation or My Absolute Inability to

meditation

meditation (Photo credit: HaPe_Gera)

My family doctor recently reemphasized how meditation would benefit me, and how less stressed I would be if I managed to meditate.

haha Meditation?! forget about it thought I to myself, but cautiously promised my doctor that I would try.

I am one of the people who can’t absolutely can’t sit still for longer than two minutes. I start to fidget, look around on minute 3. A month ago I went to a yoga class that started with meditation. I honestly tried and gave up on minute number 4. For the rest of meditation I looked around and observed what other people in the class and the instructor were doing. Everybody seemed to be in peace and concentrated. Except for me. The instructor came to talk to me at the end of the class and said: You don’t have a quiet mind, do you?

Nope, I don’t.

Then he continued: well, keep at it. You should be able to do it for longer if you do it every day.

I honestly and truly don’t think that meditation is for everybody. Keeping at it does not do it for me. Concentrating on a sentence or acknowledging my thoughts does not bring peace. They both annoy me profoundly. Instead, when I dance or take any group class, or even do weights on my own I happily switch off all thoughts whatsoever, and if moves are familiar, and I don’t need to think much, I just move, and all daily pressures go away.

Right, this is not what  many of us think when they hear a word “meditation”. Yet if one of  goals of meditation is to quiet a mind, I definitely achieve that, and even don’t have to sit and acknowledge my thoughts.

Delightful! Ommmmm to you all!

Responses

  1. I have had people suggest meditation for my depression, anxiety, ever changing moods and I have tried, though honestly, not THAT hard. I find it very difficult. I’m glad you were able to press on and it brought you peace. I guess I just have to try harder. I am in a place in my life where any help is tremendous. Thank you for sharing

    • I think that anything that will help to take certain things off a mind is helpful, not necessarily sitting down and breathing. does not work for everybody. In my experience, exercise has taken a form of meditation for me. For you, this may be something else – maybe even doing puzzles or cross stitching! Hope you will find something that works for you soon!

  2. There are many forms of meditating and getting lost in anything be it art or something physical definitely counts. When we ‘try’ we stimulate the brain and that’s really not the goal. We’re all different and need to do whatever works for us!

    • Yes, you are absolutely right – when we try and try – it defeats the purpose.


And You Say...

Categories

