Posted by: Leah | August 10, 2012

The Olympics and Motivation

Yesterday I was crazy excited about Usain Bolt. I was demonstrating his signature gesture, something like that:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you see me in the next couple of days, you may still have to bear with my demonstrations.

Growing up, I did not have any sport role models at all, and sports seemed like a very useless and boring thing to do. When I finally got into fitness, around 5 years ago, I was amazed with what some people are able to do with their body, and what I wasn’t. I have come to realize that working within your body limits, but trying to expand them every single time you get to the gym or go outside for a run or a walk is the best thing to do.

After all, I am not doing it for my healthcare provider or a boyfriend. I am doing it for myself. I have had some accomplishments that I am really proud of, and lots of setbacks including injuries I have gotten myself into. Yet I have learned how to work with the injuries too. Being active is a journey šŸ™‚

I think that the Olympics medal winners have the most profound effect on many of us. They show what you can do if you have willpower, motivation and the ability to persevere, and that is simply amazing.

Happy Friday! (this is where I strike the Bolt pose).

 

And You Say...

Categories

