Posted by: Leah | September 30, 2012

On Doing the Best You Can

Rosh HaShana came and went, and then Yom Kippur, and with it positive resolutions and decisions to do better.

September this year, however, was the most unusual. First of all, for the first time in my life I had BIG troubles fasting. Before, I would not even be concerned – I lasted for 24 hours easily, and then the last hour I would be a tad uncomfortable. Not this year. The world was spinning around me for the most of the fast, I was incredibly hungry, had a massive headache – in other words had a REAL Yom Kippur experience.

I also find it challenging to appreciate small things. I have been so good with it really. But this time in, cosy environments, random acts of kindness, postcards do nothing to me.

This is a learning curve, definitely – to do the best I can – in fasting, in maintaining relationships, in enjoying the life to the fullest. I do believe that the life is a mirror, and you get what you see. So am I ever learning – to take a step back, to breathe, to keep a fresh perspective and always remember that I have more capacity than I think.

After all, the best things in life I received from people who really did not have to do anything for me, and they took the time from their work, families and social responsibilities and gave it to me. And that I will always remember.

My motto for now is to do the best I can and remember that the best portion of a good man’s  (or maybe even a woman 🙂 ) life – his little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and love.  not my words – ~William Wordsworth!)

And You Say...

Categories

