Posted by: Leah | May 18, 2013

Just Be You

Friends that you lost touch with and past relationships are the best reminders of what a long way I have come. When some time ago, I met with my ex-boyfriend, the first comment he made – have you not become feisty!

Feisty? I was a tad surprised. I have always been this way.

Lemme do some explanation here though. I used to long for acceptance in general, and in Jewish community in particular. Acceptance not in terms of people accepting who I am, but in terms of being accepted as an integral part of the community. That was not happening though. I was, and I am a little different – from my upbringing to my accent, from my views on life, LGBT and family to my ways to practice. Instead of allowing myself just be myself, I spent considerable time and effort pretending and acting appropriately. I should say that I achieved considerable success in pretending and being appropriate part, and it looked good on the surface, but I was never happy or pleased with the results.

Fast forward couple of years, I did not have a turning point that made me reconsider and reevaluate. I simply got tired of pretending and not being true to myself. I stopped trying to blend and be one of… Instead, I focused on being who I am and being the best person I could possibly be, and if that means feisty, and at times inappropriate, that is who I am.

Really, if we allow ourselves express our colours, quirks and imperfections with passion and zest for life, the community will only win by having people who do not feel they have to hide,  smoothen and act.

“The snow goose does not need to bathe to make itself white. Neither need you do anything but be yourself”. Lao Tzu.

Happy weekend my friends. Shabbat Shalom. Be happy today and always.

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to get where you are 🙂 Good for you, Leah.

    • Thanks Sarah. 🙂 It is often that we do not notice how far we have traveled.

  2. Great post!

    • Thank you, Anni.


And You Say...

Categories

