Posted by: Leah | August 3, 2013

On Caring

I used to have firm principles in life, such as – never give money in the street to homeless people. They will buy drugs or booze.

The first time I gave in, was when I saw a homeless man taking out anything that could be remotely edible out of garbage at a subway station, squatting next to his treasures and eating them from the floor. I do not know about you, but I am not able to watch this kind of scene without going into a mild heart attack and checking if I have any cash on me to give it to him.

After that, I started to give the money in the street every now and then – if I felt I could relate to a person I would give a dollar or two.  Today, I was stopped in the street by a guy who was asking for extra change to buy food. He looked extremely nice,  and he was sober, and I thought well why not, after all bad things happen to all kinds of people. Then, he said something to me that resonated to how I feel about relationships and human interaction: “Sometimes it only takes to make an eye contact with somebody and stop for a second to check on them, and they will feel like they belong somewhere.”

I used to think that somebody was not Jewish, or an immigrant, or a woman, or a gay, or a senior citizen or youth etc etc etc that is why they could not understand certain struggles. Now I think it is so much simpler. It only takes to care, and if you care you at least will attempt to understand.

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around”. Leo Buscaglia

And You Say...

Categories

