Posted by: Leah | September 28, 2013

Listening

I am a very visual talker. I need to maintain an eye contact when talking, and if somebody does not look at me, I even sometimes stop talking to make sure I am being listened.

Have you ever talked to somebody who listens really well? As a member of Toastmasters, (here is the link to my home club WCB Toastmasters the best Toastmasters club in Toronto for sure http://wcbtoasmasters.toastmastersclubs.org/ ) I am surprised that we spend that much time speaking and less time learning to listen.

Good listening skills can take us far. I recall the first time I have encountered a really good listener – I had the impression that whatever I say was VERY important, the person listened carefully and not only sid u-huh, yeah but I asked good questions, how I felt about it and what my overall experience was. It was amazing.

As I am learning now to be a better listener, I have developed my own strategy to approaching it. It includes:

– switching off my personal opinions and judgement, so I am not tempted to judge as I hear the story

– listening carefully and trying to also hear the message behind it – what feelings and intentions behind a situation are

– showing my interest and asking questions

– not interrupting

– and yes maintaining an eye contact

I do find I still have a long way to go to be an awesome listener, but these tips help me in my pursuit.

And You Say...

Categories

