Posted by: Leah | January 1, 2014

2014. Reload.

I gotta tell you – the last ten days of December were rough for many people in Toronto. A major ice storm hit the city. A layer of thick ice accumulated on trees, and they fell, and fell some more on power lines. At the height of the storm 300,00 hydro customers were without power, which is approximated 800,000 or may be even more people. One residential building if without meters in each apartment is one customer. My household was included.

Now I realize that I was lucky. I did not have power for only 45 hours, and I am blessed to have friends who would have taken me in if that continued longer. Having no power in Toronto means no heat. In winter.  Power restorations despite the efforts of Toronto Hydro and crews helping it did take time. Some people were without power for more than a week.

I must say I got a major attitude readjustment. Before, I would bitch about the city being closed for Xmas, and Xmas lights and nothing to do. Now, I am just happy and blessed to have heat, and to see Xmas lights. Being reminded about how fragile our modern life is and how powerful the nature is, is very refreshing.

Yesterday night, I decided to do something very different. I attended a New Year Eve event in a local hot yoga (Moksha yoga) studio. As I was going to the studio through the crowds of already drunk people, I will be honest I was doubting my choices, but as I stepped on my mat in a very crowded studio and started to take deep breaths in and out in a warm studio, I realized that WAS the place for me to be that night. To readjust, stretch out of my limits and comfort zone, have a chance to breathe and mark a beginning of a new year by making a choice to be mindful and present, and to be grateful for a year with its mistakes, anger, happiness and smiles.

The best gift for myself ever. Plus I have discovered a taste to a powder matcha tea. But that is a completely different story.

Happy New Year, my friends. May this year you will be kind to yourself and others, be true to your dreams and do one thing a day that scares you or others.

And You Say...

Categories

