Posted by: Leah | February 23, 2014

Crispy Not Deep Fried Tofu

I have been planning this post for a while, but today I am a little distracted.

teamcanada

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

YEAH!!!!! Team Canada!!!!!! Gold in hockey for both women and man!!!!!!!! GO Canada GO!!!!!

Now we return to regular scheduled programming.

I have recently realized that even though I work out and aim to have a clean diet, I have started to eat more junk than I would like to.

I used to be a vegetarian, but started back with fish. I realize being vegetarian does not equal a healthy diet at all, but I decided to go back to my vegetarian diet, and one of my challenges is not to stick with  eating the same thing.

Tofu has always been my challenge. I do not deep fry anything, and if I do not, tofu comes out mushy and disgusting.

But I have finally found the way to make it crispy without deep frying. That is FREEZING it.

Here we go:

take tofu, remove extra liquid with paper towels, cut it in stripes, put in sandwich clear bags and put in the freezer for at least 4 hours.

When ready to cook, boil water, put frozen tofu in, and take it out once it floats.

Take a frying pan, add olive oil, cut tofu in cubes, add some spice (if you wish) and brown it.

Easy.

Crispy.

And delicious.

tofu

Responses

  1. Canada’s golden today!!!

    • YESSSSS! Go Canada Go!!!!!

  2. Sounds good. Crispy is important!


And You Say...

Categories

