Posted by: Leah | May 10, 2014

Free Soul. Running.

Wow, it has been a while since I last posted here. Commitments and work and school, and happy moment and heartbreak flew by so quickly.

I have been thinking and reflecting lately  on how some people weigh you down, and the world feels so heavy after being with them, as though I have taken all their worries and carried them with me. But yet there are other people, who lift you up with their souls and beautiful smiles.

” The free soul is rare but you know it when you see it – basically because you feel good, very good when you are  near or with them”. Charles Bukowski

I experience being completely free and flying when I dance. And when I run. But until 3 weeks ago I was so sure I was not able to run. Hip and knee injuries, plus IT Band Syndrome – all on my left limit me. I was so sure I was not able to run that then my yoga instructor told me I most definitely could run and should run, I was shocked to hear that my limitations could be at least moved if not removed.

But I decided to try. I bought new running shoes, which I absolutely love and they work so well for my injured left side.

photo

 

 

And I ran. I cannot say that I was running like a wind. But I was running after 4 bloody years of not. And that felt really really good. I will like to be sharing more of my running journey with you 🙂

This spring has been so slow to come. I think the ice storm had something to do with slow appearance of leaves on trees, but I was monitoring the progress:

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think we are almost there. And it is finally warm. And life feels good again.

I wish you a beautiful weekend, full of spring weather, free souls and goodness.

Happy Saturday.

 

 


Responses

  1. What a nice post 🙂

    Was a pleasure reading it 🙂

    • Thank you! I am glad you liked it. Leah.

  2. Thank you for sharing such a great post! Never heard that Charles Bukowski quote before and I loved it! Steve 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Chris! Glad that you loved the quote and the post. I saw the quote this week, and I could not wait to share here! Leah.


And You Say...

Categories